WHAT WE DO

How can the quality of urban development projects be improved? BMA has at its disposal a number of tools to support clients throughout the entire process, from the project definition right up until the delivery.

Competitions, research by design, design reviews and project meetings are the main tools used to assist and encourage clients, providing the best possible support for improving the quality of their projects.

COMPETITIONS

The organisation of competitions is the principal tool used by BMA. Competitions offer an open, healthy and transparent way of awarding architectural, urban and public space contracts with a focus is on delivering high-quality projects.

Both public and private clients benefit from support that ensures the competition procedure runs as effectively and smoothly as possible.

DO YOU WANT TO ORGANISE A COMPETITION?


RESEARCH BY DESIGN

The technique of drawing lies at the heart of research by design. This process, which has been part of BMA’s toolkit since 2016, is designed to be implemented at the earliest possible stage of a project in order to make a targeted contribution to the project quality. Whether the aim is to define the right questions, to clarify the urban planning framework of a competition, or to improve and optimise projects through imagining alternative proposals, research by design employs the medium of architecture to feed into the discussion through the use of drawings, sketches and images.

This method makes it possible to focus on the actual spatial impact of a project (volume, models, programme, etc.), taking the context into account, with the aim of achieving the highest possible level of quality in collaboration with all the stakeholders involved.

DESIGN REVIEW

The earlier discussions about the quality of a project begin, the greater their impact will be. After all, asking for advice the day before submitting a permit application will not allow for any kind of useful discussion about the project. It is for this reason that the CoBAT (Code Bruxellois de l’Aménagement du Territoire – Brussels Town and Country Planning Code) aims to encourage project promoters to engage in discussion about architectural quality at an early stage.

Since September 2019, the CoBAT decree has stipulated, in article 11/1, that a request for a design review must be submitted to BMA for all permit applications involving projects with a floor area greater than 5,000 m². This review must be appended to the permit application.

In addition to this official design review, applicants may also request, on their own initative, a discussion about the quality of the project through the organisation of a Project Meeting.  Project Meetings, which were created by BMA in 2015, have replaced the previous Chambre de qualité (Quality Chamber). Their aim is to stimulate the quality of projects, to transparently and efficiently streamline communication, to organise a professional dialogue between the architects/clients and the contractor, and to coordinate the opinions of the different authorities most closely involved in assessing quality. In this way, precious time can be saved thanks to pre-emptive consultation and a well-coordinated approach.

 

 

How to request a BMA design review within the context of a permit application

For projects with a floor area greater than 5,000 m², planning permit applications must include a design review from BMA.

To apply, applicants must submit a request by email containing all information necessary to allow the project to be adequately assessed. The design review request must therefore include:

  • The permit application form;
  • An explanatory note describing the project;
  • All project drawings;
  • Any relevant photographs.

The request and all necessary documents should be sent to avis-advies@bma.brussels

WHAT WE DO

Comment pousser la qualité des projets urbains ? Afin de remplir sa mission, le BMA dispose d’une série d’outils visant à accompagner les maîtres d’ouvrage tout au long du processus de définition jusqu’à la réalisation de leurs projets.

Ainsi, les concours, la recherche par le projet, les avis et les réunions de projet constituent les principaux outils permettant de stimuler et d’aider les maîtres d’ouvrage, d’accompagner au mieux leurs projets et d’en élever la qualité.

CONCOURS

L’organisation de concours est l’outil principal du BMA. Ils permettent une ouverture saine et transparente des marchés d’architecture, d’urbanisme ou d’espace public et poussent ceux-ci à la qualité des projets.

Cet outil permet aux maitres d’ouvrages, qu’ils soient publics ou privés, de bénéficier d’un accompagnement vers une procédure de concours qui soit la meilleure possible.

VOUS VOULEZ ORGANISER UN CONCOURS ?


RECHERCHE PAR LE PROJET

Le dessin est au cœur de la recherche par le projet. Cet outil, présent depuis 2016 au sein de l’équipe BMA, intervient le plus en amont possible et contribue ainsi de manière spécifique à la qualité des projets. Qu’il s’agisse de la définition de questions, de la clarification du cadre d’un concours, de l’amélioration et de l’optimisation des projets par la conception d’alternatives crédibles, la recherche par le projet travaille de manière contextualisée et en collaboration avec tous les acteurs impliqués.

Cette méthode permet ainsi de focaliser le débat sur des éléments concrets du projet (volumétrie, gabarits, programme, etc.), de maximaliser la qualité du projet, le tout dans un optique gagnant-gagnant avec les porteurs de projets.

PUBLICATIONS

AVIS

Plus le dialogue sur la qualité d’un projet est amorcé en amont de celui-ci, plus ce dialogue portera ses fruits. En effet, solliciter un avis à la veille d’une demande de permis ne permet pas une discussion utile autour du projet. C’est dans cette lignée que le Code Bruxellois de l’Aménagement du Territoire (CoBAT) souhaite stimuler les porteurs de projet à provoquer suffisamment tôt une discussion sur la qualité architecturale.

C’est pourquoi, depuis septembre 2019, l’arrêté du CoBAT stipule, dans l’article 11/1, qu’une demande d’avis au BMA doit être faite pour toutes demandes de permis pour des projets totalisant plus de 5000 m² de superficie plancher afin de l’ajouter au dossier de la demande de permis.

À côté de cet avis officiel, les demandeurs ont toujours la possibilité de demander, de leur propre initiative, un dialogue sur la qualité du projet via l’organisation d’une réunion de projet. Remplaçant la Chambre de qualité, créée par le BMA en 2015, les objectifs de la réunion de projet sont de stimuler la qualité des projets, de rassembler de manière transparente et efficace toute la communication, d’organiser un dialogue professionnel entre les architectes/maîtres d’ouvrage et l’autorité, de coordonner l’avis des différentes instances les plus étroitement impliquées dans l’évaluation de la qualité. Ainsi, un temps précieux est économisé grâce à une concertation anticipative et à un fonctionnement coordonné.

 

 

Comment solliciter un avis BMA dans le cadre d’une demande de permis ?

Dans le cadre de projets totalisant plus de 5000 m² de superficie plancher, la demande de permis d’urbanisme doit contenir un avis délivré par le BMA.
Pour ce faire, le demandeur doit adresser, par voie électronique, une demande contenant les informations nécessaires permettant d’appréhender le projet de manière adéquate. Il est donc demandé de joindre à la demande d’avis :

  • Le formulaire de demande de permis ;
  • Une note explicative du projet ;
  • L’ensemble des plans ;
  • Des photographies significatives.

La demande et l’ensemble de ces documents est à adresser à avis-advies@bma.brussels.